Extensions of the ICAO emblem


From a symbol representative of the International Civil Aviation Organization, the ICAO emblem has progressively become a visual object representing a larger world in civil aviation, as many bodies or institutions over the world have taken advantage of the features of the ICAO emblem to design their own. The concept of the two wings and the crossed branches of the olive tree was usually retained by organizations for their own logo, thus facilitating their identification and belonging to the family of civil aviation. The following shows a few examples of the reuse of ICAO emblem by various types of organizations.


As intergovernmental organizations and in close liaison with the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), various Civil Aviation Commissions were established with the objective to promote the continued development of a safe, efficient, and sustainable regional air transport system. In so doing, they seek to harmonize civil aviation policies and practices amongst their Member States and to promote understanding on policy matters between their Member States and other parts of the world. Regional cooperation is generally regarded as an effective way to meet the many challenges facing civil aviation, whether to allow States to better fulfill their obligations and responsibilities in a region particular, especially security and safety, improve organizational efficiency in a given region or, in economic terms, to strengthen the process of liberalization of air transport. If they fit into a broader trend leading to what might be called regional governance of civil aviation, their activities make an interesting contribution to the global harmonization of international air transport under the aegis of ICAO. Four Commissions exist today:

  1. ECAC (European Civil Aviation Conference) for the European region, founded at Strasbourg in November/December 1955.

2.    AFCAC (African Civil Aviation Commission) for the African region, founded at Addis Ababa, Ethiopia on 17 January 1969.

It came into force on 12 January 1972 after ratification by twenty Member States of the Organization of African Unity (OAU).

  1. ACAC (Arab Civil Aviation Commission) for the Arab region, founded in June 1996.

The Civil Aviation Council of Arab States (CACAS), whose agreement came into force on 14 October 1967, preceded ACAC.

  1. CLAC (Comisión Latinoamericana de Aviación Civil, or Latin American Civil Aviation Commission, LACAC) for the Latin American region, founded in Mexico City on 14 December 1973 (came into force on 21 October 1975, upon approval by 12 States situated in the area).


ICAO Member States have established statutory bodies broadly known as Civil Aviation Authorities (CAA) in their country. To implement International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) recommendations, these Authorities are comprised of various divisions that specifically regulate and license aerodromes, aviation personnel, aircraft maintenance organizations, conduct aircraft airworthiness surveys and provide commercial and economic regulation, etc. Their detailed activities may vary from country to country and they may take names such as: Ministry of Transport and Civil Aviation, Civil Aviation Administration, Directorate General of Civil Aviation, Civil Aviation Authority, etc.,







Civil Aviation Conference and Commissions emblems, showing the region maps inside the crossed branches of the olive tree



Afghanistan Civil Aviation Authority

Postmark dated

11 August 1958

National emblem flanked with two wings.


The current emblem of Afghanistan has the inscription of the shahadah in Arabic at the top. Below it is the image of a mosque with a mihrab and minibar, or pulpit, within. Attached to the mosque are two flags, taken to stand for flags of Afghanistan. Beneath the mosque is an inscription that states the name of the nation. Around the mosque are sheaves of wheat, and underneath that, the Hijri Year 1298 (1919 in the Gregorian calendar), the year Afghanistan gained independence from the British influence.



Costa Rica – 31 October 1963.

Cover sent by ICAO’s Technical Assistance Mission on a service cover from the Dirección General de Aeronáutica Civil, with its emblem on the upper-right corner.



Viet Nam Civil Aviation Department.

Postmarks dated 26 October 1964 and 5 February 1974.

The emblem of this CAA was formed at that time by

crossed branches of the olive tree and three wings crossed in the centre to depict a letter V and a stretched letter N.

BUU-CHINH in Vietnamese means Administration de la poste.



Brymon Aviation

First Flight Cover

Plymouth -  Jersey

18 June 1972


Formed in 1969, the company was incorporated on 26 January 1970 as Brymon Aviation Limited, operating as Brymon Airways. Brymon Airways concentrated all flights on Plymouth Airport in November 1972 with Britten-Norman BN-2 Islander aircraft.


Zaire Civil Aviation Authority.

Postmark dated 1976.

The lion’s head, taken from the then coat of arms, is surrounded by two wings and crossed palm-tree branches.



Ghana Civil Aviation Authority.

Postmark dated

16 January 1997.

The centre part of the emblem shows a control tower. Above, there is a black five-pointed star (as in the coat of arms), symbol for the freedom of Africa.




Eritrea Civil Aviation Authority.

Postmark dated

9 July 1999.

National coat of arms flanked with two wings.

The coat of arms shows a dromedary surrounded by an olive wreath.



India – Bureau of Civil Aviation Security (BCAS) – 25th Anniversary.

Postmark dated

2 April 2012.

The BCAS was reorganized into an independent department on 1 April 1987 under the Ministry of Civil Aviation. The postage stamp was issued on 14 March 2012 to commemorate the 100th anniversary of Indian Civil Aviation (18 February 2011).

The BCAS emblem is built around the one of ICAO: three concentric circles with the map of India, three layers of wings on each side with the colours of the national flag of India: saffron (top), white (middle), and green (bottom).



20 September 2021

100th Anniversary of Estonian Civil Aviation.

See Footnote 1.















Some emblems of Civil Aviation Authorities or Administrations, which show the wings and the wreath of crossed con­ventional branches of an olive tree.





Congo - Democratic Republic of


Dominican Republic


Interstate Aviation Committee






Sierra Leone



Sri Lanka




South African Safety Organization













Footnote 1: The Estonian Civil Aviation Administration is the civil aviation authority of Estonia, working in the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communications and exercising civil aviation state inspection and supervising over the implementation of national laws and regulations. The Estonian Civil Aviation Administration was merged into the Transport Administration on 1 January 2021.The Civil Aviation Authority has the highest competence in the organization and supervision of aviation safety in Estonia.